How to Become a Notary in Michigan

how to become a notary in michigan

If you are looking for information on how to become a notary in Michigan, you have come to the right place. Michigan Notary Public Act PA238 of 2003 is the law that regulates the Notary profession in the state. There are various requirements for notaries to fulfill including having a surety bond and filing fees and renewal fees.

Surety bond

Before you can become a notary in Michigan, you must meet certain requirements. First, you must be at least 18 years old. You must also be a resident of the state of Michigan. If you are a business owner, you must also be a U.S. citizen. The State of Michigan also requires that you have knowledge of the English language. Finally, you cannot have any felony convictions within the last 10 years or more than two misdemeanor offenses within the last 12 months.

In order to become a notary public in Michigan, you must post a $10,000 bond. This bond protects the public against financial loss in the event that you fail to perform your duties in a professional manner. This bond is good for six or seven years and remains in effect until canceled by the surety company. You can apply for a bond online. After you submit the application, you will receive a bond quote.

Fees

If you’re interested in becoming a notary in Michigan, you need to pay a few fees to become commissioned. The state requires that you purchase a bond with a certain amount of money (usually $10,000). You can also add Errors and Omissions (E&O) insurance, which will protect you if you’re sued. This insurance is optional, but highly recommended.

After you pay these fees, the Eaton County Clerk will send you a wallet-size certificate that will be valid for four to six weeks. After that, you’ll need to study the state’s notary laws and procedures. You may also need to take a notary training class.

Requirements

If you are interested in becoming a notary in Michigan, there are several requirements that you need to meet. First, you need to be at least 18 years old. Second, you need to be a citizen of the United States and able to read and write English fluently. Third, you need to live in the county in which you plan to serve. Finally, you must not have been convicted of a felony within the past ten years. This means that you have to have completed all terms of any criminal conviction that you have.

After you have met these requirements, you can apply to become a notary in Michigan. To become a notary, you must complete an application at the Eaton County Clerk’s office. You’ll need to pay a fee and present proof of identification. Once you’re approved, you’ll be sent a wallet-sized certificate. The certificate is valid for four to six weeks. Be sure to wait until the date indicated on the certificate before starting to notarize documents.

Requirements to renew commission

If your notary commission is about to expire, you must apply to renew it. The deadline to renew is 60 days before the expiration date. When applying for a new commission, you must provide the following information: your driver’s license number, full name as you would like to be appointed, date of birth, and current address and phone number. You should also provide information about your current appointment.

To become a Michigan notary, you must be 18 years old and a resident of the state. You must also be a business owner in Michigan or have your principal place of business in Michigan. You must be a US citizen or have legal presence in the country. You must also be able to read and write English. In addition, you must not have any felony convictions or three misdemeanor offenses within five years.

Requirements to apply

There are specific requirements you must meet to become a notary in Michigan. First, you must print or type your name as you want it to appear on documents you notarize. Second, you must provide the correct address for yourself on your application. This address should match that of your driver’s license or other personal identification card.

The State of Michigan has a Notary Public Act, which details the requirements you must meet to become a Notary. The act also states that you must obtain a $10,000 surety bond. In addition, you must submit an application to the county clerk and pay a filing fee of $10 to the Department of State. Depending on your state, you may also need to complete additional training to become a notary. You should also have E&O insurance, which protects you against any mistakes or omissions that may be made while performing your duties.

Please follow and like us: